New Goal

Happy November!  About time I got back on the wagon here, but all I can think of is, it’s cold, so I should figure out environmentally friendly ways to stay warm this winter, right?  I’ve had my heat on for a couple weeks already.  I do turn it down to 50 during the day and such, and I always wear a sweater and a blanket-cape and warm socks and furry slippers and such around the house when I’m cold, but it’s still on 68 when I’m home, which I personally, as the daughter of my parents, feel is Too High.

I have some ideas on how to deal with this, so I can turn the heat down- say to 63?  I get cold very easily, and I don’t function well when I’m cold.  But I could get up and do some calisthenics every 30 minutes to keep my sluggish blood flowing (unrealistic, my couch is too soft).  Space heaters are good.  They only work in my bedroom and office, since the other space in my apartment is all joined and too big to heat efficiently with a space heater.  I could spend more time in the bedroom and office.  I could eat more hot soup (tomato soup comes in a box at Whole Foods!  my kind of cooking).  More oatmeal, more tea, etc.  Using the oven warms up the kitchen, too.

Should be enough behavioural changes, but the apartment leaks heat like whoa, so some towels by the windows (single-paned of course) might stop what’s escaping at the edges, at least.  As it’s not my place to convert, I can’t do much beyond that to stop the leaks.  I have up curtains.

Any ideas on what else I can do to stay warm and get that thermostat down even further?

3 Responses to “New Goal”


  1. 1 Katia November 3, 2009 at 1:42 am

    Hey Meg,
    It’s me, I’ve been lurking on here and following your adventures in green living. As someone who lives in a rather drafty apartment in Chicago, I give a high recommend to the slanket (not the snuggie as that is smaller and made of thinner material). It is the only way I am able to work in the 58 degree wonder that is my apartment in January or so. Katia 🙂

  2. 2 Kenneth Moore November 3, 2009 at 1:54 pm

    Hm… I generate a lot of heat myself. I go through most of the winter without turning on the heat here in DC–in Nova Scotia, I had it set at 55 or so, and that was fine for me. Sweaters, socks, and cords, all good things. And nice comfy blankets! Beyond that… Baking is an awesome option. 😀

  3. 3 virescent November 4, 2009 at 12:04 am

    I like the Slanket idea, Katia- I wear my regular blankets in a one-shoulder toga wrap, which is awkward to keep up when I’m nuking soup.

    I wish I generated more heat, KM-I need to learn this secret. Or keep other people around to generate heat for me. Maybe while they bake for me? A girl can dream.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,738 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

