Climate Bill Squeaks* Through The House

It passed by 7 votes!  212-219!  It almost sounds like Congress was exciting today, and not in the embarrassing way!

There’s been a huge lobbying push behind this bill– also known as Waxman-Markey, this is the cap-and-trade plan- and no one was sure they had the votes until today.  It’s not perfect, but it’s better than nothing, and it’s got the support of a lot of the environmental groups.  Not Greenpeace (not enough for them, which I can respect), but the Sierra Club supports it, and the League of Conservation Voters even said it won’t endorse anyone for reelection that doesn’t vote for the bill.  Now, on to the Senate, than hopefully committee, then the President?  It if can somehow make it through those hurdles without being watered (coaled?  nucleared?) down even more, I’ll be not dissatisfied.

*Forgot the ‘u’ the first time out.  One day I’ll learn my lesson about posting sleepily.

3 Responses to “Climate Bill Squeaks* Through The House”


  1. 1 mike00000000001 June 26, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    I realize there are people who value the environment in ways I would consider odd. Not to mention some people have misconceptions about the environment. Ive said some rather mean things to liberals in the past but I hope to say something civil this time around. As much as you care about nature, which it seems you do, you fail I think to consider the impact this bill has on “me” and a bunch of other people like me. The fact is that my parents electricity bill is going to go up which is going to be the case also for my future family if things continue this way. I want you to know . . . that your president has given me a very unhappy day. bye

  2. 2 Kenneth Moore June 26, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    It’s a great big step, yeah, but all those other hurdles just temper the excitement for me. Although, not by much–I’m certain it’ll pass.

    So let’s hear a little w00t w00t!

  3. 3 virescent June 30, 2009 at 1:12 am

    Mike- it’s true, this bill is going to impact all of us, and energy will probably be priced higher, reflecting it’s true ‘cost’ to the environment- that we in turn depend on for food and weather and such. I hope you and your family make it through- but remember, the president hasn’t done anything about it yet, it still has to pass the Senate first.

    Kenneth- w00t w00t!


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,818 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

