Notes From a Party

1)  I had a little costume party last night.  I was Helen Clark dressed as Gandalf.  It was maybe a little conceptual.  Made the cloak myself, and realized I don’t actually own that many politician clothes.  Which is probably good.

2)  What with it being horrendous and moist out yesterday, the apartment was a sticky oven.  I’m used to it by now, but the visitors in costumes were not amused (we had two kiwifruits!).  I turned on the air conditioning for a couple hours to preserve the peace.  I don’t think it got noticeably nicer inside, actually, but I had on a beard for a while, so I might not be the best judge.  Summer resolution broken already, but I don’t like my friends sweaty and gross, so I’m ok with that decision.

3) I found organic gin!  Got it at the ABC by the Starbucks in Bailey’s Crossroads.  Life lesson, though: organic doesn’t prevent hangovers you deserve.

4) Found some great solar lighting for my porch and juiced it up for the party.  Got some of the long hanging tubes from Ikea- can’t find them at their website right now, but Inhabitat wrote of the whole line.  There’s also a little metal patterned lantern with a green glow that I found at TJ Maxx, of all places, but it keeps people from bumping into my bike.  Nobody was out on the porch last night, but if they had been it would have been all visible.  I hung up my LED Christmas lights inside- you know, for extra class.

5) Actually houseplants make every party classy.  Stick a tea rose by the gin.

Hope you had a good weekend too!

0 Responses to “Notes From a Party”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

