Green Makes My Life Complicated: Pants Edition

I’ve discussed finding pants on this blog before, but I feel it needs to be addressed again in light of my recent failures at clothing myself adequately.

I took a Wardrobe Refashion pledge at some point (actually my six months is probably up by now, but I’m still doing it) wherein I don’t buy new everyday clothing, but instead buy second-hand or make my own clothing.  And since I remain a sewing machine failure, I’ve been getting everything at the SA.  And I’ve been doing pretty well finding stuff I like, for everything but pantsing applications.

The usual sizing issues in woman’s clothing apply at the Salvation Army, but they are multiplied fifty-fold by the random selection at the store, and the fact that my typical size range is pretty typical, so the pickings are slim (literally) toward the end of the day.  What it comes down to is, for the last six months, the only pair of jeans I had was over a size too large for me in all directions.  Would have fit great with a second pair of pants underneath, but not so much alone.  Especially since I don’t have a belt.

Yeah, I fail pretty hard at clothing sometimes.

Point is, I looked for jeans at the SA three times with no success.  Absolutely nothing in my size, nothing that came anywhere close to fitting.  But last week, I hit the jackpot.  Or rather, I found one pair of jeans that fits (rather nicely, thanks!).  And then the top button fell off when I was trying them on.

I sewed on another one- can’t pass up mostly-decent denim- but what this boils down to, is applying green scruples to my pants-buying only frustrates me,  wastes time, and makes my everyday existance awkward and droopy.  To the point where I might need to consider going to real stores for jeans.  *gasp*.

4 Responses to “Green Makes My Life Complicated: Pants Edition”


  1. 1 Amelia May 15, 2009 at 12:44 am

    I hear ya. I’ve gone to Goodwill and tried on literally a dozen pairs of jeans without having a single one fit right, despite all ostensibly being my size. I have more luck at Secondi, though.

    Don’t feel bad about not being perfectly green all the time. As I’ve said on my blog, forcing yourself into orthodoxy is counterproductive. If I tried to eat local 100% of the time I’d go crazy.

  2. 2 virescent May 15, 2009 at 2:28 am

    Secondi? Do tell! The Salvation Army on Little River Turnpike is pretty big and nearby, so I tend to limit my searches to them. Plus, if I luck out, they’re $7 jeans! Button not included.

  3. 3 Sarah May 15, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Try Mustard Seed in Bethesda — they have a decent selection of second-hand denim.

  4. 4 Elizabeth Hargrave May 19, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    I have the same frustration. I think in general people must hold onto pants until they’re just unwearable, more than shirts. Not to mention that it can be hard to find jeans that fit well even when you’re shopping new.

    If you’re ever up in MD, another good store to try is Value Village/Unique Thrift — they’re on New Hampshire just north of the beltway, and have dressing rooms (the Value Village on University does not). HUGE selection, and well organized.

    Secondi is a small second-hand boutique in Dupont Circle (north of the Q street Metro exit on CT) and is much more high-end. Their pants will all be name brands and in great condition. You’ll pay much more than at a thrift store but if your main motivation is not buying newly-manufactured items, it’s a great spot. I haven’t been to Mustard Seed in a long time but they’re in the same vein — a pretty small store, but a much higher percentage of good stuff.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,006 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

