Power Bill Fun

First day with internet since Saturday, so I’ve got a lot of good stuff saved up for you!  Tonight we will discuss my power bill.  I got one already.  Already?  I’ve been here three and a half weeks.  Oh, it’s only for 18 days, ok.

So, with a $15 Service Initiation charge, and $1.91 of taxes, the bill comes to $27.24.  And another $5.52 is for “distribution service”.  For energy supply- fuel and nonfuel- I paid less than $5 over 18 days.  I used 59kWh, specifically.  I have to assume that’s good, because I’ve never had my own bill before, and I really would like to feel good about myself lately.

My utility provider is Dominion Power, which has an energy choice option.  Now, that energy choice page seems helpful at first, but mostly it tells you you have the right to purchase renewable energy from suppliers that sell it.  So I figure my supplier is Dominion Virginia Power (an unsubtle subsidiary of Dominion Power) and I head back to http://www.dom.com, and there it is- a “Buy Green Power” link to click!  Basically, you can set it up at your online account, or call and ask for renewable power.  You have two choices- 100% renewable energy (+1.5 cents a kWh), or $2 blocks of renewable energy.

So, I’m setting that up- along with paperless billing.  Thanks for the inspiration, EcoCheap!

Tomorrow, maybe recent thrifting?  Craiglist laments?  Book review?  Garden pictures?  Letter on bike racks and recycling to my landlords? Oh, the possibilities!

3 Responses to “Power Bill Fun”


  1. 1 cyawman April 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Does the 100% renewable energy cost more than the default energy option? I always feel like “Green” options (whether energy, cars or recycled paper towels) are more expensive simply because the company exploits those who actually care. I know I know, it costs more to produce and that cost is priceless for Earth.

  2. 2 virescent April 21, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    It does- 1.5 cents more a KWh. With ends up being about 10-15% more, depending on what time of the year it is. I’m not privy to exactly how much it costs for them to get the green power, but since the renewable technologies are newer and growing, they still are more expensive than the entrenched power, because of both production costs and the economies of scale created. I’m actually impressed, based on the naysayers estimates of how expensive renewables are, that it’s only this much more expensive. It’s not that hard for a normal user to cut 15% of energy use or more, which means you can get the green power and still save money.

    Encouraged to sign up for the renewable stuff yourself?


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

