Congressional Bicycle Caucus Riding High

The NYT profiled the founder of the Congressional Bicycle Caucus today, a Mr. Earl Blumenauer.  The group is pretty much what it sounds like, and Blumenauer (D-OR) is quick to point out how enhanced biking opportunities are good for basically everything that ails us- from obesity to oil prices.  I’m a believer, but I can wait until it’s not cold as (all the analogies I come up with here are obscene, so insert your own and we’ll keep this family-friendly) to start biking to work again.

6 Responses to “Congressional Bicycle Caucus Riding High”


  1. 1 bullmooser08 January 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Do you think he might be amenable to speaking in Alexandria?

  2. 2 virescent January 15, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Maybe, from the article he sounds cool. Plus he’s in DC a lot, being a Congressperson- is there an Eco-City group that does public speaking events?

  3. 3 ecocheap January 16, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Interesting article. I know there’s some advocacy groups in the area – most notably WABA, and in DC, DDOT is actively expanding their bicycle and pedestrian safety; this map http://ddot.dc.gov/ddot/frames.asp?doc=/ddot/lib/ddot/information/bicycle/pdf/master_plan/Final_Map.pdf&open=|32399| shows the proposed changes to the trail and road system in DC proper. I was at a meeting about a year ago with MPD, Eric Gilliand of WABA (who I’m sure would be happy to speak if invited), and Jim Sebastian of DDOT’s bicycle and Pedestrian Safety division. The meeting discussed the challenges of implementing programs, enforcing rules, and most of all educating those who ride bikes who don’t have the access (or don’t have the inclination) to find out enough information to bicyle safely.

    On another note:

    I didn’t bike in this week at all – the cold scared me off too. Maybe when the windchill is back about freezing… but when you’re traveling 10 to 15 miles and hour without a protective metal and glass shell and internal combustion engine powering out the heat, the windchill is much more of a factor than anything else.

    If I could find a way to keep my fingers, nose, and toes warm, I think I’d bike a lot more during the winter… and I just got a new light, I can’t wait to try it out, it’s less than half the weight of my old one, which will be a great weight lifted from my helmet!

  4. 4 Antoine McGrath January 26, 2009 at 2:42 am

    In DC its bike-able this time of year. Just plan ahead with extra layers and covers for your shoes. My commute has been more often off than on lately but its Vienna VA to the capitol hill 16 miles.
    Congress members are extremely busy people, but will cater to their district. If you have a clever event you might be able to get him out to Alexandria, Earl Blumenauer is a great fellow I met him while cycling across the country at the Democratic National Convention. If you know him put in a thumbs up for me, I am awaiting a response from his office regarding an application.
    Happy riding!

  5. 5 virescent January 28, 2009 at 10:08 am

    It’s the extra layers I lack. Good luck on your commute and job application, Antoine!

  6. 6 Antoine McGrath January 29, 2009 at 1:10 am

    Thanks! It turns out your absolutely right, the snow and ice is preventing everyone outside of 3 miles from bicycle commuting. Metro!


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,915 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

