Recipe: Sweet Potatoes Without Marshmallows

I do not like marshmallows.  This kept me from sweet potatoes for years, since they were always buried under the goo.  My folks invaded my first apartment for Thanksgiving the year I was fresh out of school, though, so I got a chance to influence the meal.  This recipe is lifted straight from a good friend, who gave it to me when I realized I had no idea even what to do with sweet potatoes after all those marshmallows.

Ingredients:

Sweet Potatoes, washed

Butter

Brown Sugar

Water

Aluminum Foil

Find a baking pan big enough for your group (be sure to have enough potatoes to fill it).  Rub it with butter, sprinkle in some brown sugar.  Slice the sweet potatoes into discs, about 1/2 inch thick.  Cover the bottom of the pan with a lawyer of flat sweet potato discs.  Cover that layer with plenty of butter and brown sugar- I like “lots”.  Add a layer of sweet potato discs on top.  Cover the second layer with plenty of butter and brown sugar.  Repeat until the pan is full.  Add a bit more butter and sugar on top.  Pour a little water in the bottom of the pan (~1/4 in.) so the potatoes steam a bit, cover the pan with foil, and bake it at about 400 until they’re soft (this is probably more than 30 minutes).

What’s your favorite Thanksgiving recipe?

4 Responses to “Recipe: Sweet Potatoes Without Marshmallows”


  1. 1 akentuckycreation November 24, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Just another idea for you. Microwave/bake your sweet potatoes, cool and peel. Slice into a casserole that is coated with Pam. Top with brown sugar/butter and optional nuts(pecans or walnuts). You just need to get this warm in the oven so that the brown sugar melts. The nuts add a wonderful texture. Leftovers can be mashed up and used for Sweet Potato biscuits/muffins or pie. Hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

    Lee

    Visit my blog: http://www.akentuckycreation.wordpress.com

  2. 2 virescent November 26, 2008 at 2:56 am

    Oh, goodness, sweet potato biscuits…thanks for the ideas!

  3. 3 Liliya November 26, 2008 at 4:55 pm

    I love sweet potatoes and don’t like cooking- but I think even I can handle this recipe! Thank you!

  4. 4 akentuckycreation December 2, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    Glad you liked the ideas. Just here to share the knowledge. I am developing a new cookbook that will hopefully be available in 2009. Thanks for the look.

    Lee


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

