Progress: Volunteerism

Welcome to my failure.  I don’t do activism, I don’t do volunteering, I mostly do sleeping late and donating online.  That’s what I’m comfortable with, that’s what I’m good at.

I actually have volunteered since I set it as the October goal.  I spent a couple hours canvassing for Barack Obama November 2nd.  That took two days of personal guilt trips and John McCain’s stance on women’s health to get going.  I started a new job and there were midterms and this wedding and it was cold and I am fantastic at having a ton of excuses to not leave my basement.

So yeah, I lose.  But this is it.  This is what I’m bad at, and it’s always been my problem:  I am no good at giving my time to other people that I do not personally know.  Also I get a little cranky when people invite me to parties while I would rather stay home and sew, but that’s a different issue.  Maybe not.

Point is, I have to work on this until it’s gone.  So, this month, it’s volunteerism again.  Volunteerism and um.  Giving.  Like Christmas, but the organic whole wheat soy fairly traded version.  They’re kinda the same premise, I guess, doing for others the wholesome way, and I need to work on it.

Volunteering/Activism/Acting in general will continue to be a monthly goal until i get it right, and I’m redirecting all the guilt I can muster at it.  I’m finding a local food bank and taking them a bag of groceries a week, in person.  I’m going to see where I can tutor or clean up or something.  I’ll get a friend to harass me until these things get done.  You can help.  Make me feel bad.

I’m looking forward to Giving, though!  A Gift guide!  Recipes, perhaps!  Anything to distract me from argh.

3 Responses to “Progress: Volunteerism”


  1. 1 bullmooser08 November 11, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Coming to the Eco-City Open House counts because you’re giving the Commission insight on how to individual citizens will feel about our draft.

  2. 2 hater November 13, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    I know this place that really needs a good vacuuming if you want to clean places … also I think it will really help assuage your guilt if you volunteer to scrub our kitchen too 🙂

  3. 3 virescent November 14, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Man, vacuuming is lame sauce. You can tell by all the u’s.

    Make me food and then we shall discuss the scrubbing aspects of this plan.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,949 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

