I Wish This Was A Review

A thoughtful commenter on this blog tipped me off to Restaurant Eve earlier this year.  Not that it’s a secret, it’s got four stars from the Washington Post and was featured in Food & Wine magazine.  I was obviously too busy making myself (organic!) mac and cheese to pay attention, oops.

But now I know!  I know, and I desire.  This place is run by a lovely chef/manager couple, is named after one of their kids, and has lunch and dinner and prix fixe menus I’d like to drool on.  Topically, though, they buy local, cook seasonal, grow vegetables, and compost!  They even want to start selling you cooking oil for biofuels. Yeah, doesn’t it sound wonderful?

Anyway, this is not a review because it’s anniversary-after-you-win-the-lottery expensive.  They have a really inexpensive lunch menu, actually, but that’s only Monday-Friday, when I work.

I am saving up for you, Restaurant Eve.  I hope to dribble red wine on your organic cotton napkins one day soon.

Check out the profile on the place and their new garden in the Washington Post today.

2 Responses to “I Wish This Was A Review”


  1. 1 stilllifeinbuenosaires October 23, 2008 at 12:25 am

    I’ve never been to R. Eve, but their birthday cakes supposedly have a cultish following.

    Cheers!
    Still Life

  2. 2 virescent October 26, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I’ve heard about that cake- they actually have a recipe for it posted on their website, too! Sharing the wealth, I assume.

    It’s at the bottom of the page in a pdf here- http://www.restauranteve.com/cocktails/index.html.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,858 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

