Progress: Finance

I did very well with the financial restructuring this month.  I got a credit report, I have a meeting with a financial advisor next week, and I’m employed again, so hey hey hey.  Bank of America has a neat little “Portfolio” tab where you can categorize everything you spend and set a budget.  So I’ve got the budget set, and I’ve been really good for the past two weeks.  It turns red when if I go over my categorical allotments.  Here is my fancy expenditure graph:

And that includes my unfrugal trip to New York.  So!  All balanced and such.  Well, except for the ridiculous amount of groceries- that’s because I had a housewarming party and bought drinks and liquor, and there’s no good other obvious spot for “booze” than “Hobbies” and that’s just not how it is.  The rent check hasn’t been cashed yet, so that’s why I appear to be homeless, also.  I’m fine, I’m fine.  And don’t freak out, dad, this is only what I spent, and I have other stuff saved and not spent and I’m being very wise, but that’s not part of the spending.

So, that is what I did last month, and it’s a load off my mind.  Perhaps one day I will be able to put myself through grad school and maybe buy a place, at least if money is worth anything anymore after this banking crisis plays out.

This month I’m trying something also a little more esoterically “green”.  I am going to volunteer.  At something.  Somewhere.  I’m not sure what.  Maybe something environmental, maybe other things too.  I need to get out and give back, and be active in my community for a while.  I was singularly bad at the “green activism”, and I’ve always been better at donating to charity than working for it.  So, once more into the breech.

Plus, Christmas is coming, and I’m dreading the season and all the giving.  I want to start giving somewhere and someway it’s actually needed for a while.

3 Responses to “Progress: Finance”


  1. 1 Shevonne October 6, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Keep up the good work!

  2. 2 virescent October 11, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    Thanks!

  3. 3 Smalley October 27, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Hmmmmm….that “other categories” section looks a little big. Are you imbezzling from yourself?


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,915 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

