Linkstravafestza

I picked the wonky, detailed ones for your edification!  You’ll love them, I promise!

The EPA continues to refuse to do its job.

The US power grid is really old, which means new green energy plans can’t get far on it. Modernization is necessary.  Too bad we’re spending all our money to buy Wall St. a Get-Out-Of-Jail-Free card.

Speaking of what the government’s up to, a few things have slipped under the radar while they’re dealing with the bailout.  The House approved $25 billion in financing for US automakers, so they can afford to make the more efficient cars they promised us.  The Senate is expected to pass the bill soon- and they already passed an extension on solar tax credits this week that the House and Bush are expected to approve.  Solar may be the sunniest part of the market these days.  Groaaaaan.

Al Gore urged the youth to go all civilly disobedient on new coal plants being built without carbon capture or carbon sequestration (CCS) modifications.  Given that the technology is so expensive and no regulations exist in the US to encourage CCS, that’s probably all of them.  Go wild. Make environmentalism exciting again.

Swedish people just built a new coal plant this month in Germany with the CCS technology, which makes it the only plant in the world that captures its own emissions.  Their system has some problems, still, and environmentalists and power experts wonder if it was worth it.

Too much for a Fried-day?  I promise soothing pretty pictures next time.

2 Responses to “Linkstravafestza”


  1. 1 Katie September 26, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Uh, what a day, huh?

    First, I grew up in an area in which an old air force base and current aerospace technology firm polluted the ground water with perchlorate (a neighbor used to say, “We thought it was great fun to ‘accidentally’ knock over oil drums full of jet fuel because it seemed through the concrete like magic”), so the fact that the effing EPA is putting their thumbs up their asses until the election is over so McCain and his billionaires-on-corporate-welfare friends can continue to run this country into the ground and give McCain a decent shot at the White House is appalling. I swear to God my husband and I are thinking about moving out of the country.

    Second, I work in the energy business and it is retardedly antiquated. I blame this on the fact that electricity HAS NOT CHANGED at all really since it was first delivered by the aliens…ooops….I mean invented. We have something like 15,000 megawatts of renewable generation sitting and waiting to connect to the California grid (highest yearly load is ~52,000 MWh), but wind power poses problems because it can drop off suddenly leaving load unserved and collapsing the power grid (in theory, generation must = load at a given frequency).

    So yeah, today has been a great day! I’m so glad GM and Ford are getting money too. Shoot, I think I’m going to start burning money as it doesn’t seem to have the same value it used to.

    Sorry for the rant. I hate our country today. Great links.

  2. 2 virescent September 26, 2008 at 2:01 am

    I haven’t got a passport, so I’ve got to be in it to win it on this one. I almost feel like if I get a passport and have a chance to leave, it’ll jinx this election. Erp.

    Think there’s any chance of CA updating their grid, or rethinking it to be more locally-based?

    Seriously. I tried to find some lovely news today, but it all hinges around financial ruin. It’s rainy and chilly here in DC, too, appropriate. So many reasons to be down- several trillion, in fact. I’m going to just get in bed and watch My Fair Lady until someone tells me this is all over.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,929 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

