Update: Save The Drips

I’m not paying as much attention to changing my water habits as I should.  Id plead vacation, work, moving, and life issues, but really I just didn’t plan this one out well.  I’d just been thinking for a few months that I take pretty long showers for a hippie wannabe, so that’s where my improvement ideas stopped.  By the way, showering at the gym in the mornings is guaranteed to save water.  There’s no such thing as a comfortable, warm, inviting locker room shower, and you will not be tempted to linger there daydreaming.  Nice to use my eco-guilt to get me up to work out, too.

Also, it has occurred to me that I’d save a lot of water if I didn’t shave in the shower, but that might be more of an excuse to put off shaving.

I looked up some lists of water conservation tips to help me get a bit further this month, though.  Some of the ones that hit home were catching pre-warm shower water in buckets until the water is hot enough for you, then using the saved water for plants.  Also, keep water in the fridge, so you don’t run it to get a cold glass for yourself.  One of the most helpful and comprehensive tip lists I found is here.

Any other tips you all have?

5 Responses to “Update: Save The Drips”


  1. 1 Biking Person July 28, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    Ten ways that will save the most:

    1. Water your lawn only when it needs it.

    What? water the lawn? what lawn? the dogs killed that ages ago and we broke both outside spigots.

    2. Fix leaky faucets and plumbing joints.

    Hmm… yes, we try.

    3. Don’t run the hose while washing your car.

    Our cars don’t get washed. Well, once, when it was raining, I put car-wash liquid on a brush and gave them both a once-over.

    4. Install water-saving shower heads or flow restrictors.

    Bah. (Ok, we’re waiting to re-do the bathrooms)

    5. Run only full loads in the washing machine and dishwasher.

    We wait weeks to do laundry, and we pack that thing SOOO full… and no dishwasher either. I’d rather have one and waste water than not and waste time.

    6. Shorten your showers.

    Guilty… does it count if you combine showers?

    7. Use a broom instead of a hose to clean driveways and sidewalks.

    Driveways and sidewalks do not need cleaning.

    8. Don’t use your toilet as an ashtray or wastebasket.

    Ugh, who does that anyway? Also, try not flushing at night and then flush after the shower in the morning. Pee, that is.

    9. Capture tap water.

    Good idea, since we broke the outside spigots, we do this a lot more often.

    10. Don’t water the sidewalks, driveway or gutter.

    Or just don’t water anything, ever.

  2. 2 virescent July 28, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Hahaha #7!

    Re #8: Yeah, remember that drought first year of school when the Cav Daily tried the “if it’s yellow, let it mellow” advice? I dig the concept and reasoning, but it’s still disturbing returning to the scene later on, after you’ve forgotten all your good intentions, and …ew. There it is.

  3. 3 ecosamurai August 1, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    #7 reminds me of one of the old tips of cleaning in my country. Wet whole bunch of little piece of paper (from newspaper for exampe). Squeeze them so as they are not too wet. Sprinkle them on the floor. Broom! This way, a little bit of moisture in the paper will capture dust and small particles on the floor.
    Another tip is to use sort of a bucket that fits the size of the sink in the kitchen. Instead of running water, do preliminary washing in the bucket without running water.

    Problem is….I don’t seem to find these kinds of backets for kitchen sink in here.

  4. 4 ecocheap August 3, 2008 at 12:01 am

    Look, it’s me, Biking Person! I got myself a shiny new wordpress blog.

    And I’m making rain barrels. Do you want one? I have three, except the first one dribbles a little from the spigot. I’ll have to find a way to fix that, but they’re great for watering all the plants you’ll have in your small garden in the new place 😉 right?

    Anyhow, I’m excited and ready for bed. I’ll have to post about the barrels later, and upload a picture for the avatar, I was thinking I’d put a nickel and a dime on the grass and be funny that way.

    Hope that everyone who bothers to read comments on old posts will come see what Ive got to say too!

    Cheers!

  5. 5 virescent August 7, 2008 at 11:35 pm

    Thanks for the ideas, ecosamurai. Are the buckets you’re looking for a special shape, or a certain size? It sounds a bit like a Navy shower- get wet, turn off the water, then soap up and clean, then rinse. Only, with a bucket.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,915 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

