One Reads Differently When Days are Longer

Grist published a list of 15 “light” environment reads for summer reading.  I imagine if you asked politely, though, you’d be able to read them any time of the year.  I haven’t read anything on the list, but a few look pretty good- “World Made by Hand” and “Trespass”  especially. Has anyone read any of them, or have any other titles to recommend?

I’ve Just finished “Coal: A Human History” by Barbara Freese.  It’s not quite “summer” reading, unless you’re way into dirty, smoggy history on clear, sunny days. I’ll go ahead and promise a review for later, complete with well-researched references to recent brou-hahas over new coal plants in VA and GA.

I’m taking “More: Population, Nature, and What Women Want” by Robert Engelman with me to WI (along with five other books and a stack of magazines to catch up on in the hammock, happy sigh), since the population aspect of environmentalism is one I don’t fully grasp, and I’m very interested to see how he works on it.  He did an interview about his methods and motives with NPR, which is where I heard about it in the first place.  I’m pretty stoked to see “feminist” (as if it doesn’t impact ladies and gentleman and everyone else alike) issues and environmental issues dovetailing.

Not that most would necessarily find this to be “summer” reading, either, but seasonal reading never made much sense to me anyhow.

4 Responses to “One Reads Differently When Days are Longer”


  1. 1 Robert Engelman July 4, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Great that you’re taking More on vacation. I actually wrote it to be just that kind of book — easy to read, hammock-thought-provoking for people open to some provocative speculation about population, women’s lives, and nature. I’ll welcome any reactions you have. Enjoy your time in WI.

  2. 2 virescent July 15, 2008 at 7:13 pm

    I got through it nicely on vacation, and a couple of people were interested in reading it after me. And yes, it was thought provoking, in that my 7 year-old-cousin asked what the book was about, and I had no idea how much to explain to her for a little. I think I did ok, though, told her it was about how women should have the power to decide for themselves when to have kids, because some women don’t now. She asked me if I did, and seemed pleased that I have that power. I’m pretty happy about that myself, actually.

  3. 3 Robert Engelman July 19, 2008 at 11:57 pm

    Sounds good. It’s going to be really important for your cousin. I’m glad you’re a role model for her, and that you found food for thought in the book.


  1. 1 Green Festivals Ahead « Virescent Trackback on November 7, 2008 at 1:52 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,738 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

