New Photo Albums, and An Intro

This weekend, I got much more work done on my laptop case, having been inspired by my sewing class that ended Saturday.  I made a skirt, and let’s just say that I’m glad I chose a garish mustard yellow/pumpkin orange color combo, since it causes viewers to not want to look again to check my seams for accuracy.  It’s possible I’ll wear it in public, but I might also need a bag to wear over my head.  Or I’ll just save it for events I’d rather not attend in the first place.

Laptop CaseThe laptop case fared much better- I found a fantastic yellow chunk of stuff, and so I lined some outside pockets and the inside lid with it, and it’ll be just right for the tape connecting the inner and outer cases, eventually.  I also dove into the strap issue, and got the buckles securely on.  I’m making it up as I go along, really, but it’s turning out wonderfully.  Photos and an explanation are here.

Tonight in between rainstorms I weeded my pots and replanted the ones whose contents had mysteriously died.  Erm.  No idea how… I’ve got no peas or sweet peas left (though seeds for the latter- apparently they’re clTomato flowersimbers!  Who knew!  I’ll get some more things for them to climb, and try again).  I’ve staked both tomato plants, and one of them has gone feral, and grown quite enough for three tomato plants.  It’s got some tiny tomatoes now, though, in clusters of three, and about 15 buds.  Both pepper plants have peppers coming along well, and my “hearty” lettuce is thriving in the alternate scorching sun/torrential downpours we’ve been getting for the past month.  The Swiss Chard, which I planted at the same time as the lettuce, has got two sickly-looking sprouts, so I added more seeds to that container.  Both that and the lettuce are supposed to do well with the heat- I suspect the chard was upset by the rain.  My romaine is seaweedy, but keeps getting bigger. I planted new mint, baby’s breath, poppies, spinach, and cilantro, also, in some of the empty containers.  Photos here.

While on the topic of my gardenous bounty, I should share that I’m a bit worried that it will die/I won’t be around to harvest it.  I’m headed to a family reunion in Hayward, WI for a week this Saturday- I assume the tomato and one of the peppers are preparing to be ripe next Wednesday, drat the luck.  Hopefully I can convince my housemates to water them while I’m away- maybe with edible bribes?  I know they won’t love them like I do.

More on WI soon.  It’s thematic.

3 Responses to “New Photo Albums, and An Intro”


  1. 1 Heather's Garden July 2, 2008 at 10:19 am

    That pepper is going to take forever to ripen, so I wouldn’t worry about harvesting it. The tomato does look like it’s a week away from readiness, but if it’s really close when you leave, pick it and keep it on the dash as you drive to finish ripening. You don’t want to miss the first tomato!

    Oh and peas and sweet peas are not going to grow for you now, they are a cool season crop and there’s no getting around that. You can try a fall planting, but I did last year and I think our Indian summer screwed them up.

    Have a blast on your trip though it sounds a little too rustic for me — my idea of roughing it is a hotel without room service!

  2. 2 virescent July 2, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Oh, thanks for the tomato tip- I really do want to eat that thing. The only part of my garden I’ve eaten so far is the rosemary.

    Drat about the various peas. We have a lingering fall usually, though, so I’ll try again then.


  1. 1 Target’s Organic Experiment: Oof « Virescent Trackback on July 2, 2008 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,785 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

