Green TV: Hulu and Beyond

This post is mostly to justify the amount of time I’ve spent watching Remington Steele at Hulu this past week, but when I was looking through their archives, I came across a surprising number of environmentally-oriented programs.  What’s up with all this green tv?

Hulu is a free streaming video site- like Youtube, but they carry entire shows and movies.  It’s legal, and there’s some stuff you have to sign in to watch, and there are a couple of commercials played during each episode.  But the videos stream pretty quickly and without weirdness for me, so that’s a nice big plus.

You can watch clips or episodes from “Big Ideas for a Small Planet”, which is a documentary series about sustainable topics- power, water, fashion (!?), and the like. “Eco Biz” profiles entrepreneurs in green businesses, and new eco-business strategies. “Ecoist” appears to be clips of famous people talking about their environmental activism. National Geographic has a passel of short environment documentaries posted, also. Oh, and Fox was helpful and posted their 10-second clips of famous people telling you to do green things from Earth Day. So, if you feel the need to hear Omar Epps lecture you on reusable bag use, be Hulu’s guest.

As for environment movies, there’s…uh…The Day After Tomorrow.  Which is awesome, but not in the informative way.

Looks like there are some entire channels dedicated to green programing now- Sundance’s The Green, Discovery’s Planet Green.  They’ve got reality shows (on Planet Green: Greensburg- after a tornado destroyed everything, they’re trying to rebuild, well, green) and celebrities (Sundance does Ecoist, but a more entertaining series has Isabella Rosselini in elaborate insect costumes while describing in graphic detail their mating rituals.  Probably NSFW, or children for whom the facts of life have not been outlined, though bug love presents a much less loaded conversation-starter than most cable programming).  Plus home makeovers, science, history, business…like other cable channels, only I’m hoping the show host banter is less grating and more informative.

I’ve got at least a season of Steele left, but maybe I’ll stream some Big Ideas afterward.  Anyone else seen these shows?  Whats good?

5 Responses to “Green TV: Hulu and Beyond”


  1. 1 gina June 23, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    I’ve been generally disappointed with Planet Green. I do really like the Greensburg show and surprisingly I’ve enjoyed Supper Club. I don’t care for most of the rest. On GWord the people were eating scorpians which I still don’t understand why that’s “green”.

    I should check out Sundance! Thanks for the tip.

  2. 2 virescent June 23, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    GWord? Is it like Fear Factor only they get dared to do disgusting green-type things, like switch to reusable TP? If it’s not, they should make that show, because I’d watch it.

  3. 3 Cameron June 27, 2008 at 11:16 am

    I love HuLu and I surf thru it often to find random and interesting stuff! I haven’t found th bug-loven movies yet…but they are next on my procrastination ToDo list!!

  4. 4 Heather's Garden June 30, 2008 at 1:32 am

    I didn’t notice Remington Steele on Hulu last time I was on, I must now go watch. If only I could find Moonlighting too.

  5. 5 virescent July 1, 2008 at 12:01 am

    THe only have the first two seasons so far! The agony!


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,929 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

