Recipe: Good Mustard Potato Salad

Potato salad is my favorite food, in my head.  I love it in a very specific, theoretical incarnation, and I haven’t found a source that makes it that way.  (How do I know how I like my potato salad then?  Maybe I was served the Right Kind when I was young once?  Maybe my brain’s chef took the mayonnaise and potato idea and whipped up an imaginary taste?)

Thanks to this month’s cooking challenge, I finally made the potato salad that I’ve coveted last night, and it’s every bit as wonderful as I was hoping.  It’s based around a spicy brown mustard and rosemary from my garden.  No dill or tarragon, though I know those are typical flavorings- I don’t like dill, and I had some awkward encounters with a tarragon-based soda in Russia, so I avoid that also.  The most important part of this is the mustard.  Don’t use that flavorless yellow junk: get a serious, tasty mustard.  I used a half-bottle of Gulden’s, which costs less than the yellow stuff and tastes ten times better.

Ingredients:

small red potatoes, chopped to bite-size

onion, chopped small

good mustard

mayonnaise

rosemary

salt

pepper

Wash and chop the potatoes, then set them to boil until they’re soft- don’t let them get to mashed potato consistency, unless you’re actually secretly hoping to make mashed potatoes instead.  Meanwhile, pick and wash some rosemary (or take out the bottle of it) and chop it and the onions up.  When the potatoes are ready, put them in a big bowl.  Cover them with enough mustard to get a thin coat on each potato.  Toss in the onions.  Add a small glop of mayonnaise, and stir around.  Toss in rosemary, salt, and pepper to taste.

I bet the mayo is optional, but even a little of it makes everything so creamy.

Enjoy!

5 Responses to “Recipe: Good Mustard Potato Salad”


  1. 1 grandma June 22, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    My dear Meg
    I like your good taste in potato salad.
    Now
    Here’s mine.
    peal the potatos, cube them, then cook till done.
    dice celery and onoins in small pieces, chop hard boiled egg or eggs just according how much you are making.add mayo,mustard pickle relish and salt and pepper to taste mix all together and enjoy.
    love u.

  2. 2 virescent June 23, 2008 at 12:04 am

    That sounds great, Grandma! I like the relish idea especially- I’ll try it next time!

  3. 3 hater June 23, 2008 at 9:56 pm

    that’s the po salad your bf nearly chopped off his finger making right? It was totally delish!

  4. 4 virescent June 23, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    finger-licking good.

  5. 5 Aunt Mary July 3, 2008 at 9:03 pm

    I am so lovin’ the recipe section. Way cool!


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

