My Laptop Case, Begun

As soon as I finished posting about the laptop cases I was coveting the other day, I had a vision of exactly the kind o laptop bag I’d like to make for myself.  I sketched out a design with a padded internal section, various extra pockets, and a pair of shoulder straps that each encircle the pouch and must be clipped closed, in order to complete the strap and close the pouch flap.

Now, I am not a great seamstress.  I don’t follow patterns well, and I know very little about the intricacies of sewing.  I only figured out how to automatically wind my bobbins Friday- before, I thought I was just doomed to poorly tensioned seams.  But this weekend, I had time, good bobbins, a vision, and a hearty confidence in my ability to reduce a theoretical bag structure to straight lines.  Finally put that engineering degree to work and all.  Incidentally, that’s always the mindset before I tackle a freehand sewing projects, and most of them haven’t turned out so well.

Laptop case internal structure

I made the case out of a gray denim material left over from another project I’ve been working on, with a double layer of fleece to pad the laptop compartment.  It’s lined with a portion of a very unfortunate-looking velvet skirt that I thrifted, and some shiny white fabric from a remnant bag I was given lined the other compartment, and made a few pockets.  I made a second case out the grey denim to put the first, rough case in, to both conceal the seams easily and give it more strength.  Voila!

Case with Lining

I’m rethinking the strap ideas, but I need to add those, bunches more pockets, and dig up some sort of something from my fabric pile to use as a bias tape to even out the rough edges.

I’ve signed up for a for-real sewing class this weekend, so ideally that will lend some polish to my enthusiasm.  Photos will ensue, if I like how it turns out.

More photos of the construction are here.

5 Responses to “My Laptop Case, Begun”


  1. 1 Jaynee June 17, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Very cool. Nothing like a project you’ve designed and made yourself to tell you exactly how it should have been done in the first place. Use this one with pride! Its very existence is impressive. Good for you!

  2. 2 Katie June 17, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Awesome! Keep us posted on your laptop case adventure. I’m looking forward to hearing more.

  3. 3 Gentleman Friend June 20, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Your bag has no handles. Laaaame.

  4. 4 Cameron June 20, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    I would like to use these pictures and seek a patent on this new carrying case…..to whom would I submit this form?

  5. 5 virescent June 23, 2008 at 12:10 am

    You’d think, with my vast experience in “Package and Article Carriers”, that I’d have a sweet idea for a strap system for my case. And maaaaybe I do…


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,785 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

