Recipe: Potatoes and Peas in a Delicious Sauce

I am not a vegetarian.  I do not know anything about “vegetarian cooking”, except you can’t use meat.  But I’m trying to eat less flesh, and I’m trying to figure out how to make it simple, because I don’t like to spend time cooking even delicious, meaty foods.  So here are my more successful experiments at creating stupidly easy, tasty vegetarian dishes.

All the recipes in this series will be tested, however sloppily, in my own kitchen, and will require fairly easy-to-find ingredients, taste pretty good, scale easily, pack as lunches well, and reqire minimal effort to throw together.

Potatoes and Peas in a Delicious Sauce

Ingredients:

2 medium potatoes

1 bag frozen peas (or unfrozen, whatever)

1 jar Korma Sauce (or other spicy sauce.  I got my Korma sauce from Whole Foods, but you may have a local Indian grocery or just another favorite spicyish, creamy sauce.  Try what you like, I’m no Food Fuehrer.)

Wash the potatoes and cut them into bite-size chunks.  Dump chunks into a frying pan.  Dump peas into the frying pan until the proportion of peas to potatoes look delicious to you.  If you’re using canned peas, drain them first.  Dump the sauce onto the veggies until all the veggies have sauce on them- mix while you’re dumping, so you don’t add too much.  Add some water to the pan- enough the cover the bottom, at least.  It should say to do this on the side of the Korma jar.  Turn on the heat to medium, and cover the pan.  Let everything simmer until the potatoes are soft.  While it’s simmering, continue to stir the food so nothing sticks to the pan, and add water if it all boils away so none of the veggies burn.  If you can mush a potato chunk with your stirrer, it’s done.

You’ll have time to do some dishes or futz around while it’s simmering, also, which is good for me, since I like to read while I cook.  I’m not a good cook, did I mention?  And if you use frozen peas, the mix might need to sit for a day or so for the delicious sauce taste to blend with the peas.

Enjoy, and let me know what kind of spin you’d like to put on it.  A different sauce?  Different vegetables?  Let me know how to make it better.

 

8 Responses to “Recipe: Potatoes and Peas in a Delicious Sauce”


  1. 1 Gentleman Friend May 28, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    I imagine judicious application of butter, salt, pepper, and garlic will do wonders.

  2. 2 virescent May 28, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    The nice thing about the Korma sauce is that its got a nice seasoning blend to begin with- not short on flavor, for sure. Did all the work for me. More seasoning might actually be overkill. But experiments will occur.

  3. 3 millie May 28, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    This sounds like a recipe I would like to try – I’m not familiar with korma sauce. I like that the peas cook down to blend with the sauce. Could you use frozen peas?

    I look forward to more of your experiments in the kitchen (or over an open fire pit or buried jar).

  4. 4 virescent May 29, 2008 at 11:50 am

    Korma sauce is a creamy sort of Indian curry that’s a little sweet and a little spicy. And yes, I used frozen peas, but it took a while for the flavor to soak into them- tasted better the day after I made it.

    If you want to experiment, there’s a Korma recipe here: (http://recipegal.com/indian/KORMA-SAUCE.htm. My very helpful Indian officemate just told me to be careful, because it’s very easy to burn the yogurt base.

  5. 5 Cameron June 2, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Im so happy your are reducing your “flesh” intake! It’s hard at first, but as you build up your cooking repertoire, you’ll realize it’s actually a lot faster to cook when you’re not waiting on your protein to cook all the way through! 2 things though:

    I was actually pretty much Vegan for a little over a year. I had to add back eggs and fish because I was working out a lot and not getting enough protein (one can only eat so much tofu!)! So watch out that you are still eating a balanced diet with the addition of nuts and dark legumes (peas, broccoli, etc) so that you get enough iron! I’d recommend picking up a few veggie cook books at the used book store so you can have the right stuff in your pantry for those nights you don’t feel like thinking and get the urge to order in McDonalds!

    Second, I too LOVE the pre-made sauces….watch the salt!! Those buggers taste so good for a reason!

    Good luck!

  6. 6 virescent June 2, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Thanks, Cameron! Next time we hang out we should try to prepare some sort of impressive feast, so I can learn your meatless ways.

    Also broccoli is for-sure on my list of things to eat all the time- steamed and salted!

  7. 7 Jaynee June 17, 2008 at 9:50 am

    Last night I had a friend over to share dinner with me. One of those friends I adore but never see often enough. She has been diagnosed with breast cancer, and is healing herself through all manner of modalities. I served her fresh fruit and green tea, natural cheeses, toasted almonds, and then my (planned) dinner of marinated tofu with veggies and basmati was thwarted when she described that her type of cancer doesn’t do well with soy. So, out comes the (last) bag of black rice. Always a winner. Then, what to do…..okay open the cabinet: one remaining “cabesone” — the onion like a “head” – about the size of a small grapefruit. Half a stalk of celery, okay. Garlic’s always a winner — 5-6 of those please. Now, one middle-aged orange pepper — good for color. Ah…ginger root, a favorite weapon of mine. I say weapon because my family despises ginger as much as I love it. Too bad, I have a guest. Okay, now for a punch of flavor, my other favorite secret weapon: balsamic vinegar. Oh look….here next to the carton of leftover chinese food….a bag of garbanzo beans. So. into the huge pan goes a glug or two of olive oil, then the onions, quickly followed by the celery (both cut roughly and quickly), with many swishes over a very high heat, then in with the ginger (lazily sliced and not peeled), and as the veggies begin their “translucent act”, in goes the big handful of chopped up garlic, the beautiful orange pepper, a tablespoon or so of balsamic, and lots of black pepper. Stir stir stir, and then the garbanzos, just to warm. What a success! A lovely evening with a friend who nurtures my soul, and a lovely dinner to strengthen her body. She’s awesome.

  8. 8 virescent June 17, 2008 at 11:12 am

    That sounds fantastic! I should consult with you about good, flavorful things to keep around, actually, since you always seem to have them. And your cooking is always delicious.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,858 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

