Saturday in the Garden

And by “in the garden”, I usually mean “with the dozen pots on my deck”. But this Saturday, that all changed. It took hours, 50 pounds of potting soil, and a vision. Here’s what it looked like last week:

garden before

And here she is now:

garden aftergarden after 2

I wish I had before and after pictures of the full deck, because the contrast is huge. The pictures I do have are here. I cleared a space for my house mate, too, since he’s been wanting to get a grill, and I’d like to do everything I can to support that endeavor. The grey rack works very nicely, too, so I think I’m going to get a second one for the plants on the blue table, and save even more space. Plus, I’m thinking I can set up the peas to grow along their legs.

I planted baby’s breath in the swan, and carrots in the tall long metal tub. The other 4 long tubs are all ready to be planted with anything. I haven’t decided what can go into them yet- I want salad greens, but I need something that will do well in heat, since it’s going to get hotter and hotter from now until August.

The past few weeks I’ve been coveting honeysuckle and rosebushes, since they’ve been smelling up Del Ray and Old Town with their niceness. The deck is probably not a great place to start roses, but maybe I could attach a honeysuckle to the wall and let it go wild? Will that destroy the wood, which is wobbly already anyway? And can I just grow honeysuckle from a cutting? And for a cutting, would “an overhanging bit I break off from the sidewalk of somebody else’s bush” work?

4 Responses to “Saturday in the Garden”


  1. 1 Heather's Garden May 28, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Wow, you got a lot accomplished. It’s looking great. Isn’t it amazing how addicting gardening is? I have no answers to your questions, but stealing plants is a big no-no. Asking someone for a cutting is a much nicer way to go, most gardeners would say yes without hesitating. That said, I have no idea if honeysuckle can be grown from a cutting.

  2. 2 virescent May 29, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Thanks! Yeah, I’m getting surprisingly sucked in. It’s nice to have a quiet place to sit out there, now, when the housemates are watching tv.

    Maybe I could get the honeysuckle if I run really fast afterwards? See, now you’re going to make me talk to people, and interact, and share gardening stories, and actually that sounds nice. I’ll give it a shot!

  3. 3 fightingwindmills May 29, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I just posted some photos of honeysuckle. I hope you’ll take a look. Your deck garden looks great!

  4. 4 virescent June 1, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    They’re lovely, and Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

