Friday Is Bike To Work Day

The event is sponsored by the Washington Area Bicycle Association (WABA), and rallies have been organized at “pit stops” around the region. They’re printing up 7000 teeshirts, so you’ll be biking in good company- they promise biker convoys.  In Alexandria, the rally features food and raffles and such.  Maybe I should bike over to the rally, then walk to work.  Only the raffle prize is a free bike, and I already have one bike I don’t use enough.

So do it!  My commute is so short now as to not justify biking- I’ll be walking.  But if you want to borrow my bike…

2 Responses to “Friday Is Bike To Work Day”


  1. 1 Adrian May 14, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Hey! I love riding my bike, and can’t wait to get out there on Friday to show my support! I was browsing through a bunch of green websites and blogs and I came across yours and found it very interesting. There are a bunch of others I like too, like the daily green, ecorazzi and earthlab.com. I especially like EarthLab.com’s carbon calculator (http://www.earthlab.com/signupprofile/). I find it really easy to use (it doesn’t make me feel guilty after I take it). Are there any others you would recommend? Can you drop me a link to your favorites (let me know if they are the same as mine).

  2. 2 virescent May 15, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    Hope it’s a great day!

    I’ve actually never used a carbon calculator to estimate my footprint. Partly because I don’t want to link what I do to become more sustainable to just lowering carbon outputs, but also because I really don’t have any way of know my impact for lots of things- since I never got power or water bills in my last apartment, I couldn’t guess at that, and now I live with other people, so it’s still hard to determine what amount of energy I’m using. I liked the “Consumer Consequences” (http://sustainability.publicradio.org/consumerconsequences/) survey at NPR- it measures the number of earths it would take to support humans, if everyone lived the way you live. I was at 4 earths, now I’m at 2.5- and I suspect that, just by living in America, I’m going to be above 1. Check it out, does it make you feel guilty? It does for me, but I’m getting used to that feeling.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,915 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

