I Staked The Peas

staked peas

Thanks for the advice, Heather! I’ve got them on chopsticks right now, but they’ll grow to about 30″ tall, so I need to find some bigger chopsticks.

In the background you can see my new purple hydrangea. I hope that one day it will grow into a bush. For now, it looks lovely in one of the pots the Gentleman Friend’s mother gave me. (I keep wanting to abbreviate him as “the GF”, but I don’t think that sends a clear message. I’ll type it out until a new, more graceful euphemism is found.)

Garden photos update here. It’s been very cold the last few nights, so I moved most of the sprouts inside for the time being. I think the spearmint has invaded my basil. Also, I started soaking cilantro seeds this evening. This summer is shaping up to be pretty tasty.

Here’s something I’ve learned: Next year, I should plant the seeds individually in small containers to sprout next year, so they transplant neatly and painlessly. I need to dig up the ones I’ve got going and replant them with more space. Since they’re germinating together in little planters, their root systems aren’t neatly separated, and I’m afraid the transplanting shock of pulling their roots apart will anger them. I’m especially worried for the kalanchoe- will he be ok if I dig up the morning glories from all around him, then fill in the hole with new potting soil? Or will he become my first victim of the season?  Only Time Will Tell.

2 Responses to “I Staked The Peas”


  1. 1 hater May 1, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    why are you calling the kalanchoe a guy? i think you should go apologize to her.

    also, i’m eating at your well-seasoned table this summer fo realz.

  2. 2 virescent May 2, 2008 at 10:20 am

    Because right now, the kalanchoe is more confortable identifying himself with a masculine gender identity. He reserves the right to change his mind, of course.

    Are you bringing me wine?


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,860 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

