Garden: Third Week

So far, everything except the sweet peas has come up from seed. Those I planted a full inch deep, just like the packet said, so I’ll wait a little while before I start worrying. The shelling pea plants are growing the quickest.

spearmint sproutI’m rather suspicious of my success. All I did was collect dirt, pots, seeds, and water. I didn’t even get drainage in most of the pots right, so they’ve flooded twice with the heavy rains the past couple of weeks. And for this, I am rewarded with perky sprouts? Just get a load of that spearmint sprout. He has no idea what he’s getting into. Clearly unprepared for, and unconcerned with, the ravages of my attention. I want him to grow quickly, so I can make tea of him.

I have discovered an effective method for curing the impatience between planting and finding green things: go away for the weekend. Plant Thursday night, make some plans, come back Sunday, and voila! No chance to spend the weekend avoiding one’s phone and staring at dirt, plus rewards when you return.  This has been keeping me calm, anyway.

Eating these guys is the next step that I’m very excited about, but the next actual step is transplanting. I started my seeds close together, like the package said, so I’ll need to thin the morning glories and climbers especially, and the hidden kalanchoepeas, also- there’s one guy who’s struggling in a small pot with two other thriving pea plants. The kalanchoe is now hidden in the glories, but he appears to be doing well. I assume he’s a bit confused about all the (living) company these days, but soon he’ll be moved to safety.

My Gentleman Friend’s wonderful mother gave me a gigantic stash of planters (with a huge spiky bromeliad bonus) this weekend, which is going to make it possible to separate things the way they should be (and decorate my bathroom). For now, though, more photos of the garden tonight are here. I have romaine lettuce, maybe!

I’m also looking for good homes for a few morning glory sprouts. They’re probably best in pots, since they tend to grow quickly and consume yards and native plants otherwise. Want one? or six?

7 Responses to “Garden: Third Week”


  1. 1 Gentleman Friend April 29, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Not to be alarmist, but have you installed some sort of safeguard against these plants becoming TOO fecund? Engineered leucine deficiency, weedwhackers hanging from threads, trained killer doberpillars? They show no signs of stopping or even slowing, and do not know fear…

  2. 2 virescent April 29, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    My safeguard is hunger. These things are engineered to taste good, thus their days are numbered. And the ornamental ones? Well, I guess the pots will keep their roots to a manageable size.

  3. 3 Heather's Garden April 30, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Your gentleman friend is funny. Do give those peas a bamboo pole or a really tall stick to climb up soon. If you don’t give them something tall to grow up, they’ll flop over and stop producing peas. Look at the seed package to see how tall your particular plant is supposed to get, and if it says 6-8 feet, they’re not kidding!

  4. 4 Crafty Green Poet April 30, 2008 at 6:07 am

    I like your idea of going away for the weekend immedialtely after planting. I’ll need to remember that one…

  5. 5 virescent April 30, 2008 at 10:03 am

    Thanks for the tip on the peas, Heather- one of them has flopped over this morning, so you’re just in time to save me some dinner! I think those guys might also need a larger pot to hang out in soon. 6-8 feet of peas! That’s wonderful!

    Poet- I had to call my housemates to save the badly-potted sprouts from a heavy rain this weekend, but otherwise this works so well! What with the wonders of nature and life etc., it is tempting to check on them every hour or so to see what they’re up to. And at that point, it’s time to get out of the house.

  6. 6 Dagny McKinley April 30, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Love your style of writing. You have a great sense of humor and have given me hope for my seedling sunflower plant. While I have no plans of eating it, I do have plans for toasting sunflower seeds. How little do they know?

    Dagny McKinley
    http://www.onnotextiles.com
    organic apparel

  7. 7 virescent April 30, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Thanks, Dagny, I do what I can. Good luck toasting your seedling bits! Let me know how they turn out.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,006 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

