Eco-City Alexandria Charter

I was walking through Old Town yesterday, on the way to get my mom a fairly-traded mother’s day gift, when I saw a flyer for the Eco-City Alexandria Summit.  Well, well!  The city is working with the local campus of the Virginia Tech graduate program in Urban Planning to create a plan for future sustainable development, and that’s the grad program I’m interested in attending, so apparently the stars are aligned well lately. Except the fair trade store was closed for the evening already, so one star was AWOL.

The process has already begun the planning stages. Good summaries and some interesting documents are already posted at the website. Community leaders got together to discuss some ideas in March, and the Summit is a chance for local citizens to make commentary and add to the outline. It will be held Saturday, May 10, at TC Williams High School, from 8:30 to 2:30. Breakfast and lunch are involved, and registration is free, though they want an RSVP to eco-citysummit@alexandria.gov by next Friday or Saturday- they’ve asked for “Friday May 3”, but Saturday is May 3rd, so.

I had plans to be in a sewing class the 10th, but this is more important- especially since I fancy myself a local sustainability blogger. I’m going to have to expand “local” to actually include more than my back deck. I’m pretty out of touch with local goings-on. Apparently they’re announcing the Environmental Charter from the March Eco-City meeting at the Earth Day celebration today in Ben Brenman Park (on Duke St, across from the ugly library)? I didn’t know we had an Earth Day celebration, so I should probably pick up a local paper or read the local county website ever.

But I know now, I’m signing up today, and I’ll report back. Thus begins my descent into local activism.

(I am a little afraid of being an “activist”. Why can’t growing my own food be enough? But I know it’s not enough.)

5 Responses to “Eco-City Alexandria Charter”


  1. 1 virescent April 28, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    UPDATE: The actual address is eco-citysummit (at)alexandriava.gov, not what I posted above. Sorry! And let me know if you’re coming!

  2. 2 Biking Person April 28, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    hmm… sounds interesting… I don’t know if I’ll make it out, but I do know that Alexandria throws away a whole bunch of useful stuff that SHOULD be recycled, donated, or otherwise re-used. Bulk pickup is on Saturdays, so people put their bulk items on the curb on Friday nights.

    I got another bike, an electric (SO HAPPY) lawn mower & string trimmer, pictures, frames, and an antique chair. There was SO much more stuff that was perfectly useful, but not useful to me.

    There should be a program where people can put their still useful stuff out on the curb and the city comes and picks it up, but instead of crushing it and putting it in the landfill, take it to a central location where those who want to can come look for things they need, for free.

    Granted, there was still plenty of trash out for bulk pickup, but the vast majority of the stuff just needed a little TLC. Except for the mower & trimmer… I plugged those things in and mowed my yard, and lent it to my neighbor to mow theirs. It felt SO good not to pull the cord on the 7hp, exhaust spewing small motor on the old (overkill) mower.

  3. 3 virescent April 30, 2008 at 10:47 am

    I’ve got a confiremd reservation for the event now. I’ll bring it up, BP. Also, let’s go curb collecting this Friday?

  4. 4 Biking Person May 1, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    I could have used this a while ago…

    but I’d say we should definitely go tomorrow. We can get bikes at your house and strike out Westward from there!

  5. 5 virescent May 2, 2008 at 10:17 am

    Shoot, it’s only for spring cleaning! Maybe that’s ok, I need to wait a while anyway before I need more stuff. Next year it is.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,915 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

