Photo Albums: Garden, Growing

I thought I had plans last night, but I’d gotten the date wrong. Magically, then, a free evening appeared, which I spent playing with my plants on the deck. I put in Spearmint and Romaine Lettuce, and I’m soaking Sweet Pea seeds. So, to date, I have grown from seed:

Edibles: Shelling Peas, Chives, Basil (purple kind), and Lavender

Flowers: Morning Glories, Cardinal Climber, Kalanchoe (by accident)

I also bought a hydrangea bush (which is unhappy, see– the leaves are getting brown and curling up at the edges, and the flowers are drooping- am I over-watering? Or under-watering? Or does it want sun?), and a Rosemary tree.

Oh, and I finally hooked up my composter the night before last. The excellent Biking person gave me a couple jars of good dirt from his yard, so my starting cultures would be good, and so far nothing smells funny. The housemates have all been instructed in the proper use. I still need to weather- proof it better, but it’s happily reducing food scraps as we speak.

Pea PlantAnd now the albums: first, of my garden from the night of it’s inception, so you can trace the sprout progress. Also, my peas are growing in fantastic folds, like the one to the left, and these others. And it is really amazing how tiny mint seeds are– compare that to the others I’ve planted.

So far, I’m getting seeds from the grocery store. It’s Whole Foods, and they have a little gardening section, but any ideas on where else I could look for stuff? Their selection is rather limited, and the only other place nearby that carries seeds is Target. The hardware store is pretty far away. Also, I’d like to branch out into the mysteries of plant cuttings (har!). Advice, and bits of your plants, would be greatly appreciated.

3 Responses to “Photo Albums: Garden, Growing”


  1. 1 Katie April 25, 2008 at 10:33 am

    I just typed a big ol’ comment and it got eaten! Drats.

    Kalanchoe by seed – happy accident?

    You’re hydrangea will be ok. You can’t kill those things. In our less Earth-friendly days we lived in a house with huge hydrangeas in the back, and Chris tried to whack ’em down (we can’t remember why exactly, either), but they always came back.

    And Jake the dog used my hydrangea in a pot as a fire hydrant stand in last summer, and I couldn’t figure out why it was so sickly until I caught him doing it. It lost all it’s leaves and has been dormant, but I transplanted it into the ground in January and am happy to report it is doing well. Leaves and everything.

    When you have some finished compost, you should apply it to the top of the soil in your potted plants – that will go a long ways towards helping regulate nutrients and such. Perhaps there is some kind of deficiency in the hydrangea? I wouldn’t worry about it too much. It still looks great!

  2. 2 virescent April 25, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Thanks for the reassurance! I repotted her last week, so I’m wondering if maybe she’s trying to adjust to that. I checked the soil this morning- she’s in a pot without drain holes, and it seems very damp in there. So I’ll poke her some dain holes, and feed her compost in a couple weeks, and worry later, then.

    The little kalanchoe happened sometime this winter- I had an empty pot (actually maybe it wasn’t empty then, maybe I just hadn’t fully killed whatever was in it) sitting next to my big kalanchoe in the windowsill, and it spontaneously generated. It seems to be doing well, though right now it’s so dwarfed by the morning glories I put in with it that I’m a little afraid for its roots. I will be transplanting the glories this weekend. Also, this experience makes me wonder about what I could generate were I to leave other things on the windowsill.

    And thank you for you nice comment earlier in the week! I should have replied sooner. Your yard is an inspiration. But I’ll come on over to your blog to talk to you about that.

  3. 3 Heather's Garden April 30, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Make sure you keep your mint in its own container. Their roots are very invasive and they will take over any container they’re in. A lesson I almost learned the hard way.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

