My Lavender Might Be Alive

Baby Lavender

It’s the greenish smudge in the middle. I’d read a lot about the difficulty of growing lavender from seed, and my soil isn’t draining well at all (lavender loves to drain!), so I had despaired. But something’s come up. Only one baby lavender, from about 20 seeds, but that’s ok, it’s a start.

Last night, I soaked peas, basil, and a few more climbing guys (which allegedly go nicely with morning glories), and I planted them tonight. soaking seeds

Hopefully their pots will drain better- I filled the bottoms with gravel to give the base some breathing room. Gravel was collected from a defunct water fountain and the side of the road, on my way home (Yes, I washed my hands after, mom). I did have to purchase dirt yesterday, though, which is the most ignominious part of urban gardening. Hypothetically, I could steal it from a public green space in the dead of night, but that’s not fair to my neighbors. Plus it’d be full of puppy doo and broken glass.

HD sells both organic and non-organic dirt!  Well, I got potting soil, but they had “regular dirt” of both kinds too.  I bought the non-organic kind, but I’m wondering the impact of growing vegetables and herbs in it, since it’s got the chemical fertilizers and such.  I’ve got enough for a while, and I won’t waste good dirt, but I should read up more on it and make a more informed decision next time I obtain some. Also, bags of dirt are surprisingly heavy, and I’d like to thank the nice man at Home Depot on 236 who helped me get mine into the car Tuesday afternoon.

(The morning glories and chives are still growing too!)

chives day 8morning glories day 8

4 Responses to “My Lavender Might Be Alive”


  1. 1 Gentleman Friend April 17, 2008 at 12:22 am

    I, for one, welcome our new chive-ean overlords.

    Also, it looks like you need to housetrain your Cardinal Climbers.

  2. 2 Heather's Garden April 29, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    I learned the hard way that you really do need to buy potting soil when growing in containers. You think you have drainage issues now? Try garden soil in a pot, you’ll have a freaking swamp. I didn’t like growing edible plants in Miracle-Gro potting soil, so I spent more this year for the expensive non Miracle-Gro, non-Scotts product and will be adding worm poop or my own compost to my containers for fertilizer.

  3. 3 virescent April 30, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Which product do you use? Did the Miracle Grow impact the taste of your plants last year? I’d like to find a good potting soil source, preferably at a local gardening center and preferably organic- Home Depot hasn’t got a great selection, but there’s some stuff there. I need to do more exploring in my area.

    Also my dad put tomato and pepper plants in garden soil last year for me- but the pots had excellent drain holes, and they didn’t get too bad. Though soil around where he lives is full of clay, so it’s likely I just wasn’t watering them enough…

  4. 4 Heather's Garden April 30, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    My local garden center had a brand called Farfard, http://www.fafard.com/, and since it’s twice as expensive as Miracle-Gro, I’m hoping it’s twice as good. Our local Agway carries it too. All my veggies tasted great last year, but some, like the peas, never produced too well and contracted diseases said to be caused by wet fet. It could have been the really rainy spring we had, the fact that I was using self-watering containers, or maybe the Miracle-Gro potting soil had too much fertilizer in it — we’ll never know. My tomatoes did excellent though, as did the lettuce, habanero peppers, and beans. My zucchini was trucking along until the dreaded squash vine borers got it.

    But my big mistake was using Miracle-Gro garden soil with just a little bit of normal potting soil mixed in for a 1/2 barrel herb garden. We mistakenly bought it instead of potting soil and I really wanted to plant my poor little herb seedlings and did not want to drive back to the store for a different bag. It never drained well and herbs in particular like somewhat dry sandy soil, which I would have known if I had taken 5 minutes to Google before planting. I also planted spearmint smack dab in the middle of that container, which I quickly fixed once I read how invasive it was.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,006 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

