If It’s Tuesday

Then I went to the thrift store. I had a legitimate purchase today- I needed homes for the seeds I bought yesterday. Mission Accomplished. First though, the other stuff.

Art Deco Cream and Gold Frameblue stars long sleevesColorful Camp Shirtblue tuxedo blouseblue skirtHoney Sweater

Picture Frame, $2, 8.5x11ish- it’s a gold and cream deco-like design painted on the underside of the glass.  I actually got this last week but neglected to put it up. Blue Star Shirt, $1. Colorful stripy camp shirt, $4. Blue tuxedo-style blouse, $4. Skirt with great fabric and horrific shape, $4.  Honey-colored sweater, $5, with a nice thick collar and cuffs, off-center zipper, moss-stitch front texture…ooh I like it.

I feel, after a few of these posts, that I should justify the amount I shop at thrift sales, and the amount I buy when I’m there.  Acquiring too much stuff being all unsustainable and whatnot.  I grew up hating shopping for clothes, so I never owned enough that I liked, or enough useful items, to make it through a week without feeling gross or awkward in my clothing.  That is very unsustainable.  So I’ve donated most of it, and now I’m having a great time getting things I actually like.  Thrifting has replaced about 90% of the “real shopping” needed to replace wearables.

This might all taper off when I have enough for warm weather.  Or when my tiny closet explodes.  But for now, I’m not feeling guilty about having “too much” stuff to wear.  And all that other stuff that’s not wearable, but just cool?  It’s at least all useful.  Though if I buy more fabric scraps, my sewing pile will explode.

Anyway, the alleged reason for the visit:New flower pots

My new planters, obtained for under $20 together.  None of them have drainage holes, so how do I deal with that?  Someone mentioned gravel in the bottom to aid soil drainage?

6 Responses to “If It’s Tuesday”


  1. 1 biking person April 16, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    a masonry drillbit will do the trick for those planters. Don’t try to use a regular one, however, because it’ll completely destroy it.

    Aaron and I went shopping at the dump last weekend, I got a suit, a hat, and a couple of ties, and Aaron got about 5 shirts, a jean jacket, sweatpants, and some other stuff… pickup truck that pulled in beside us was a landlord dumping an evicted tennant’s stuff…

  2. 2 virescent April 16, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    This dump idea does sound intruiging. I personally enjoy having color-coded racks to sort through, but I should expand my horizens.

    So are there actual dumpsters to dive through, or is it just a big pile?

  3. 3 virescent April 16, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Also, where would I find a masonry drillbit?

  4. 4 Gentleman Friend April 16, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Your local hardware store. There’s one just up the street. If you don’t have a power drill, though, you’ll look pretty silly twirling the bit aimlessly at your pots. They might even laugh at you.

  5. 5 virescent April 16, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    It sounds like it would be much simpler just to find some gravel. I’ll try and collect some in a baggie on the walk home today, actually, since the planting needs to happen tonight, anyway.

  6. 6 Jaynee April 23, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    I may be able to help on both fronts. We have a drill bit (it’s not too late, even after planting, by the way) that we’ve successfully used on a number of vessels. Also, I have several pots which are available for adoption. I’ll gather them together, this weekend.

    Speaking of which….what are your plans?


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,915 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

