Tossed and Found Sale

Yesterday I went to the remnants of the “Tossed and Found” Junior League Sale in Crystal City with a house mate. The game was, we could buy a garbage bag for $35, and then whatever fit in it was ours. Plus everything that didn’t fit was 75% off (making possible our new wine rack), it being the last of the sale, and we got a free TV with thebutton down garbage bag.  It had a tag on it that said it worked, so that’s cool, I guess.
purple camp shirtyellow blousebow ties

napkinshankyblue sweater

This is what I came away with. A couple blouses, a shirt for the Gentleman Friend- the grey one, the purple and yellow are for me. Some bow ties (just in case). A set of green napkins and a red cloth handkerchief. I’ll either use those to cut down on throw-away paper, or sew them into something. And a big ugly blue sweater, with decent-looking yarn and continuous seams. That’s going to get unraveled, and knit into something more awesome.

Last, but certainly not least, I found a pile of books. Apparently, someone named Tom, according to a couple inscriptions, had a big thing for Russian and Eastern Europe. I share this pas(obses)sion. tossed booksI snagged a copy of the novel form of Ashes and Diamonds with screen shots from Wajda’s movie on the cover! Karamzin’s letters from Europe! Pardon me while I salivate. (Do you share this love? Would you like to? We should talk!) Plus, I found a nice copy of Lessig’s Free Culture, Backlash by Faludi (to catch up on my 90s feminism), and a beat-up copy of The Seven Pillars of Wisdom, by TE Lawrence. And just last week I wondered if I had anything to read. (The answer was yes, I made a pile after the last used book sale I plundered. But still.) Anyway, let me know if you want to borrow anything. Or if you have access to a copy of “A Generation”, because netflix hasn’t got it, and I’ve seen Kanal and Ashes, and I’d like to complete the trio.

Also there was one more thing but it is part of a larger plan for a secret awesome costume, so I’ll post it later.

Handmade update:  Finished the white dress alteration.  Have knit 6 more inches of the scarf since the last post.  About five feet to go…

1 Response to “Tossed and Found Sale”


  1. 1 biking person April 14, 2008 at 10:52 am

    neat!
    I found a bunch of stuff tossed in a dumpster the other day. I’ll have to send you a photo of everything stacked up. The short list is: 5 of 7 harry potter books, another random half-dozen books or so, 24-ft aluminum extension ladder, wheelbarrow, 12spd road bike, and a bunch of odds and ends. It boggles my mind how people can throw away so much perfectly usable stuff, even if they can’t use it, I think that they have a responsibility to at least attempt to find someone else who can use it. Free craigslist postings tend to do that quite well.

    Also, on my regular trips to the dump (Ft. Totten transfer station, DC) I’m amazed by the amount of useful stuff that’s tossed. You saw some of the stuff we picked up in Aaron’s Evicted Guy costume… a landlord needed to get the stuff off the curb. I wish that they didn’t push the stuff around with big equipment, it ruins the bikes that are tossed, and pretty much bends everything that’s tossed to unusable shape if it wasn’t that way to begin with (probably 90% or so)

    Anyway, a dump trip to watch what people throw out some weekend would be an interesting outing. Bring a camera and a pair of gloves?


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,858 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

