Thrifting Fools

Here’s what I got (Salvation Army, Little River Turnpike– at #6 on the map):

pink dresspurple skirtPink dress, 7$. I like the print, and the cut (maybe when I know how to do things of the sewing nature, I can copy it!), and the pink is definitely not what I normally wear. It has a couple small stains that are hard to see, so hopefully washing will get those out. If not, I hear vinegar is like magic.

Purple Skirt, 3$. Saw the fabric first and loved it- then remembered that warm days are ahead. Hurrah for breezes.

4 Responses to “Thrifting Fools”


  1. 1 Gentleman Friend April 2, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    Pink dress looks like Kaylee’s from Firefly. Maybe that’s why you like it.

  2. 2 biking person April 2, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    If you can’t get the stains out and douse the dress in vinegar, nobody will be able to come close enough to notice the stains!

  3. 3 virescent April 2, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Kaylee and I certainly share an appreciation for 100% cotton, but I prefer Inara’s wardrobe overall. Kaylee and I just happen to have more practical personal persuits.

    biking person- the internet told me that dumping a cup of vinegar into the washing machine gets rid of stains, and doesn’t make things smell awful. I can’t believe this is true, even with all the lavendar detergent in the world, but they said it. So, I’ll let you smell/know.

  4. 4 virescent April 3, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Oh man, so I checked out the episode “Shindig” last night and the dres Kaylee wears is a)basically that pink, b) got all those buttons, and c) has similar sleeves. Hers also is drowning in ruffles and the skirts are nothing alike, but oh my. Yes, it’s a Kaylee dress.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

