Four Bucks for Cashmere?

At the 4 dollar sweaterSalvation Army, yes. I found this sweater there this afternoon while I was dropping off a load of unnecessary apartment stuff, and had to share. So classy and soft, and if the price and quality won’t convince you to browse your local second hand shop, nothing will. Finding something at a thrift store is way more exciting than finding something at a normal retailer- the element of surprise, the thrill of the chase, etc. Less chance of getting a winner, true- I saw plenty of ugly sweaters made with gorgeous yarn, so maybe next time I’ll try out this advice on recycling sweaters I found through another blog (which I’ll link soon, they’re nifty).

After that ecofriendly success, I balanced my day by getting caught in a rainstorm on my walk home from work, while carrying my bag of groceries. Fortunately it was the perfect warm evening and light rain, and I only stepped in the big puddle and soaked my socks a few hundred yards from my door. But it was a good reminder that practical hippies should carry umbrellas.

4 Responses to “Four Bucks for Cashmere?”


  1. 1 Cameron March 5, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    Im a second hand store whore!! Especially in New York, you can find the most random and awesome stuff! You should focus on the sorting binds in the back, because those fools that work for Goodwill, sort out the best stuff for themselves!!

  2. 2 virescent March 6, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Ha, sounds like they’re no fools at all!

    DO you get the same response I do when you show up in second hand? – I love that shirt/coat/thing! – Thanks, I got it at the Salvation Army/a thrift store! – Really wow we should shop there! *change topic*

    I feel like more people like the idea of thrift stores than the actually going to them part. Sure sometimes they smell funny and the bin of discarded stuffed animals is always depressing, but still. So much hidden goodness!

  3. 3 Skye April 17, 2008 at 10:29 pm

    Took me a while to get here, but thanks for the subtle link love. I’m glad you liked the tutorial, I was happy to write it up. The thrill of the chase is totally what it’s all about.

  4. 4 virescent April 18, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    I like the work you’re doing over at Crafting for a Green World. I found an unravelable at another thrift sale a couple weeks ago, and I’ve been working on that slowly. The yarn itself is seperating though, so I’m trying to figure out how to prevent that.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,858 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

