The Composter Is In

UPS finally allowed me to have my package today, so ta-daa!
composter in box

She’s a NatureMill Plus, and she’s surprisingly soft and light.composter mixer The deal is, I put stuff in the top, along with sawdust (or other “browns” like all-purpose flour), baking soda, and dirt, then I plug it in. In two weeks, all that undergoes a messy metamorphosis into very strong dirt. There’s a picture of it open- it’s got a heating element and a mixing bar, then I push a button and it dumps itself into a tray to “cure”.

Now, I am aware this is not “real” composting. I am aware that I should build a container and put it in the sun and dump in some worms, then watch it lovingly and take its pH level and turn it and drain it and coddle it and all that rot. (Hah!). My parents taught me how to for-real compost, though since we lived in the woods it was actually more like “put this in that pile and let nature occur”. In this apartment though, and my next apartment, I have no woods or even yard, and very little sun, and no place to experiment. Plus, let’s see how the new housemates handle rabid guerrilla recycling before I spring worms on them.

What’s in it for you? Why, you’ll receive fresh pictures of my first few batches, of course, plus I’m now taking applications for loads of uber-dirt, to be delivered every two weeks or thereabouts.

I need to go dig up two cups of regular lame dirt to get this baby going- but then, I can eat a banana, cut the peel into 4in-pieces, and watch the magic happen.

Gratuitous accessories shot:

naturemill accessories

4 Responses to “The Composter Is In”


  1. 1 millie January 23, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I would like to apply for a load of uber-dirt, please. Is there a required essay?

  2. 2 Biking Person January 24, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Awesome… I don’t know if my mom ever got around to ordering my vermi-composting unit, so I’ll have to ask after that, but when it gets here… we can RACE!
    Oh, and if you ever need to get rid of any extra dirt, we’re battling our dogs for the vegetation in the back yard, and any little bit will help the righteous preserve the plants!

  3. 3 Cameron January 29, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    With out the worms…what’s doing the composting?? Is it just bacteria and yeast that are in the starter dirt culture or on your food naturally (grooooosssss)? I wonder if that is more or less efficient (gives better end product) then adding worms into the mix (although I don’t think Nighcrawlers would enjoy getting smacked up by the stir bar?)! You forgot to add that it’s hard to compost year round when temps drop bellow freezing! You end up killing most of your composting creatures on the first several feet of a big heap, and all of them on your small heaps. In Santa Cruz, our Hippy neighbors compost would get covered by blankets during cold nights!! The blankets were probably home sewn from hemp and beez-wax!! Love those hippies!!

  4. 4 virescent February 1, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I’m betting the nightcrawlers are more efficient, just because mine draws a little power (like 10W, nightlight style) to keep the stuff up to temperature. In big piles the stuff canmantain temperature by itself in side the pile. Not sure about the end product- Biking Person, want to test it on some tomatoes?

    And yeah, I have to add some “local dirt” (they recommend two cups, then baking soda to taste) so that the local dirt cultures get distributed.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,952 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

