I’m moving!

In actual reality, not here online. This is part of my January plan to Reduce. Well, it’s part of that, and a whole lot more. The plan was to clean out my clutter, but it got me to thinking.

I live alone in a 1-bedroom apartment, with a relatively large bedroom, normal bathroom, smallish kitchen (though it’ll fit at least 7 people during a party), generous living room, balcony, and a library. Yes, a library- it was the dining room, but it works better lined with books, and who needs dining rooms? My rent isn’t bad, especially for the space I have and the location, and recycling is possible, though in this apartment complex the system is abysmal- exciting trash chutes by every elevator, but only three recycling bins for the entire complex, which is about 7 3-5 story apartment buildings.

Still. I can live in less space, and I want to live in less space. I expand to fill my space, so the only way for me to seriously reduce clutter is to have less space- the stuff I clean out of my apartment now will just be replaced soon, unless I flee. I could just have a stuff embargo- not get anything until this apartment is Spartan. But then I’d just be paying for empty space, and I am certainly not a modernist. No, I want to fill my space efficiently, but I want to fill less space. (For less money).

In looking around for a new home, it became apparent that I would need housemates. After a brief personal crisis (but what if they drink my orange juice or make sounds?), I accepted this idea. And I found a place!

Not only is my new place smaller, I’ll still have my own room and bathroom, exclusive use of three closets (storage space is crucial, different post), and a shared living room and big kitchen and a deck. That’s not the best part, though. I’ll be within easy walking distance of my work, two Metro stops, a weekly farmer’s market, several grocery stores, and Old Town Alexandria- in fact, the house is right on the edge of Old Town. Plus, since it’s in a cityish place, it’s actually difficult for me to drive- the time spent finding parking will make walking more efficient. How sustainable is that!?

Yes, that is actually what my brain excitement has boiled down to. It’s not just a cheaper, cool new place with some old friends- excitement enough, but I bask in how much more sustainable my lifestyle will be when I move. The way I feel about this is akin to not eating store cookies because of the packaging- the perspective is skewed from the way I used to weight decisions, and the way I see most people weight decisions. It’s new to me, but it’s a settling perspective, I’m getting more comfortable with it, and I like the decisions that it’s leading me into. Is this a drug- like runners run because they get endorphin waves- am I on a sustainability high?

I do hope somebody starts making cookies in recyclable packaging.

4 Responses to “I’m moving!”


  1. 1 Kestrel January 20, 2008 at 3:14 am

    If they drink your orange juice, you could throw all your stuff at them, thereby making your apartment appropriately Spartan. Then you could puncture their soft meat bodies with a cold iron spear, pinning them to the wall and making it even MORE Spartan. And then sustainability fits in there somewhere (probably somewhere next to the body).

  2. 2 virescent January 20, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    Ugh. In that case, I’d like to take a very strong anti-Spartan apartment stance.

  3. 3 Cameron January 21, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    OMG….did you factor in where I’LL BE STAYING in this discion….clearly not Meg…..clearly NOT!!

    I am actually going through a similar crisis (in my head)! When (if) I graduate and stay in NYC….there will be no way I can afford a 1 bedroom apt. Do I squeeze into a box known as a studio, move far out into the Burroughs and listen to planes land at JFK (with 1.5 hour commutes into Manhattan) or go back to communal living!???

    I’ll prob wait to see if I can get a post-doc before I worry about all this!!

    Big ups on the reduction in car driving! Im seriously trying to hold out until the plug-in electric is available for lease (then secretly build a exact replica of it’s frame, report it stolen, burn the replica to the ground, and keep the plug-in)!!!! Take that GE!!!

    c-

    p.s.
    I hope your new roommates won’t mind you composting on the huge deck!! Nothing like the small of decomposing banana peel in the morning!!

  4. 4 virescent January 21, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Some more worries I had about housemates and efficiencies were “Where to keep my friends” and “How to have a shindig”. This might work out pretty well- it’s basically at a Metro, so when you’re visitng you won’t even have to bus to one. Plus you can totally still stay on the couch, or in my bathtub or wherever! Are you allergic to dogs?


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,006 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

