NPR’s “Consumed”

I mentioned the series a couple of months ago in a post, but I managed to miss it last week when it started up. Fortunately, they have a great website up with links to the stories, a few blogs, and audio files of the radio broadcasts. Five American Public Media shows have taken part. Marketplace covers the economic angles, Weekend America does the human interest, and I have no idea what the other three focus on, but their story titles look pretty interesting. Topics range from architecture to greenwashing to morals. They also have a “game” up- Consumer Consequences. Last time I played, I got “4”, in terms of “number of earths it would take to support my lifestyle if everybody lived the way I did”, so I’m having guilt pie for dinner. Check it out, dig around- they’ve got a lot of neat stuff over there.

3 Responses to “NPR’s “Consumed””


  1. 1 Kestrel November 21, 2007 at 1:17 am

    Wasn’t that the show where they turned trash into LIGHTNING?

    Voodoo, I sez!

  2. 2 Biking Person November 21, 2007 at 1:04 pm

    nice… with my house the lowest I can ever get is 1.3… even if I changed everything to be as efficient as possible. I doubt PEPCO uses green energy, but I’ll have to examine where their energy comes from and other options.

    The biking to work and not driving much really seems to make a big difference…

    I got a 2.6 doing everything I do now. That’s a really neat little quiz/game.

  3. 3 virescent November 28, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    That’s really interesting, BP- so if everyone, or I guess every family, on earth owned a home, we’d need another planet to support it all? That makes sense, considering the sorts of homes going up in the ‘burbs today. Only if current construction and efficiency and power methods change will this planet be big enough to house everybody properly.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 47,038 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

