Progress: Plastics

It’s been a while, but I haven’t forgotten about my plastic goal.  Just, it hasn’t gone very far, either.  My pile of “reusable” plastics keeps on growing, and I’ll get them into a test pillow one day.  I’ve got a few balls of plastic yarn ready for a slow afternoon.  I’ve got a great reusable grocery bag, and I’ve remembered to bring it to the store most of the time, or take my things without a bag.  Except at Target a few times- their bags fit my trash can exactly.  And the number of styrofoam containers from takeout and restaurant leftovers surprises me.  I don’t eat out that often, really, it’s just even two or three of the boxes look bad all stacked together.  They’re #6 plastic, generally, but with the food residue and Alexandria recycling rules, they’re not recyclable.  I’m going to start bringing my own Tupperware to restaurants and asking if they’ll pack it in that, instead.  I predict that this will make me a popular dinner companion, but I promise to let the innocent wait outside or take a powder break while I ask the waiter, if they can’t handle the envirolove.

So, I’m going to declare that done, and here’s the new goal for the month: since I’ve already started, let’s make it working on a sustainable holiday season.  Consider the gift guide the opening salvo, and I’ll be taking a trip to my helpful Biking Person’s grandparent’s organic tree farm.  Plus, there’s food to make for Thanksgiving, decorations to find, and wrapping to do.  Then, afterwards:  Thank you notes.  So this will probably stretch beyond the month, but if I get what I want for Christmas, I’ll start off the New Year composting!  Here’s hoping you’re as excited about my food scraps as I am. 

2 Responses to “Progress: Plastics”


  1. 1 Lling July 15, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    How is the composter getting along? I am seriously considering getting a composter for my apartment. Any comments on the workings and the compost so far? Do you actually throw in all the food scraps?


  1. 1 Progress: Reduction and the Next Step « Virescent Trackback on February 3, 2008 at 11:49 pm

Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,738 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

