Progress: Lunches

attractive rocket ship lunch boxThis month’s goal is progressing pretty well. I’ve been packing my lunch in this convenient and attractive rocket ship lunchbox, and keeping track of the things I still throw away in order to make/eat it. I’m wrapping my sandwiches in aluminum foil, since it’s easier to recycle (toss it in with the cans) as long as it’s clean- plus if you fold it gently, you can reuse it once or twice, so that’s cut down on plastic bags. The oatmeal creme pies are a constant source of package waste, as well as the granola bars, so either I need to find unwrapped snack foods, or snack foods with recyclable packaging. Apple cores I generally toss also, but as soon as I start composting I can start bringing those home, too.

Once I got used to the idea of thinking about lunch before 11:30am the day of, and procured a lunchbox, packing lunches was a lot simpler than I thought it would be. The food tastes a lot better than the frozen dinners I used to bring. I have spent more time cooking, but that’s not altogether a bad thing, though it takes a lot more thought at the grocery store. The nice thing is I can make a few things on Sunday (some chicken, some pasta, some other type of pasta) and have enough to combine in various containers throughout the week, so by “more time cooking” I mean “I have to cook one night.” This is a very large change for me. I feel like it might be building character, and now I finally have something to do with my cookbooks besides display them in an attractive manner.

I’ll have the final update (will she continue to purchase oatmeal creme pies?) in a couple weeks, but in the meantime, (goal for the month) I’ll be gathering the necessary equipment (bike, helmet, other things are also involved, I am led to understand) and starting to bike to work. This is more of a challenge than last month, since I like food, but I don’t very much like biking. The thing is I probably like jogging less than biking, so by biking to work I will feel compelled to jog less often. Expect photos of the ford I will have to cross on my way (yes, I will ford a stream on my ride to work) and my bicycle basket/rocket ship lunch box launch pad.

3 Responses to “Progress: Lunches”


  1. 1 Jaynee October 1, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Being an old foodie, who has travelled (decades ago) in the far East, and in Europe, I know that edible wrappers have been available for years. On a whim, I googled this….Look!

    http://www.acfnewsource.org/environment/edible_wrappers.html

    Love the blog, sweet pea….love your goals!

  2. 2 secret nonadmirer October 2, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    only you would have a spaceship lunchbox.. now i’ll have to join you for lunch to see it for real! also, if you’re going about cooking lunches, you could make your own cookies and nix the packaged ones. i’d suggest making your own granola bars as well, but i’m afraid you’d actually do it. and that you’d make me try it.

  3. 3 virescent October 2, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    neat- wrappers made of fruit snacks! Fruit snacks are another thing I’ll be missing in order to lessen the waste packaging. I wonder if those wrapper snacks can be washed so they’re safe to eat after shipping- maybe like an apple?

    And actually, secret, my wonderful cousin read this post and baked me oatmeal cookies this weekend- they were really good, so I know what I’m not missing with the packaged ones any more.


Leave a Reply

Email Me @

virescent.blog (at ) gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 46,913 hits

Unless otherwise indicated, all content and photos posted on this site are generated by me. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

